twenTY someone: Justin Gaymon

Hometown:Columbus,OH

College:University of Georgia

Age: 25 (going on 15 or 30 depending on the day).

Occupation: Professional Track and Field athlete representing Nike and TeamUSA, GE Developing Health Initiative Coordinator and Founder of the Georgia Playbook.

1. Describe your job in three words: Shit, which one?

2. If you could live anywhere in the world it would be?New York City. I grew up in Jersey and feel alive whenever I visit NY. Everything from the people to the food to the diverse culture keeps me loving NY.

3. The most interesting place you ever traveled to: Oslo,Norway. I went there for a track meet a couple years ago expecting to see nothing but a bunch of blonde haired blue eyed people, but the country was actually pretty diverse. Almost like a melting pot. The people, music and food were from all over the world and diversity is an important concept for me.

4. Track aside, what is your favorite sport? Well, track isn’t my favorite sport. I’m dedicated to running and put a lot of work into it, but to be honest I’d rather be doing other things. I’ve been an athlete my entire life and since I was five I’ve played pretty much every sport there is from football to golf. But getting back to the question. If I had to name a favorite sport to play it would be tennis. My favorite sport to watch is football.

5. A perfect day is… Doing absolutely nothing. Sleep in ’til 12, listen to some music and then watch either How to Make it in America or an old school “rising to the top” movie like Cool Runnings.

6. One regret from college: I wasn’t very good with prioritizing things. I wish I went into college on top of my “ish” but I was a big procrastinator and am still trying to shed that habit.

7.  You felt on top of the world when: When I won my second SEC 400 meter hurdle title. It happened in 2008, the Olympic year.  I ran 48.5 at SECs which was a couple months before the Olympics. The time I ran was the fastest in the world at the time and I thought I was Olympics bound. I didn’t make it to the Olympics, missing the team by .04 seconds, but I really did my thing that year in track and winning SECs had me feeling like I was unstoppable.

8. What do people assume about you? People assume that just because I’m good at running that I must love it. People are always like, “You’re so lucky you get to have a job that you love.”

9. So set them straight: Don’t get me wrong now, I do enjoy the sport and love being competitive, but it’s getting a little old for me. This is my 11th year competing in a sport where the goal of every workout is to bring yourself as close to feeling like you’re going to fall out as possible. It wears you out, physically and mentally.  There’s more to me than track and field.

10. In ten years you will be: Chillin’.

2 thoughts on “twenTY someone: Justin Gaymon

  1. Love Justin’s honesty about the life of an athlete – people have lots of misconceptions about having such a “great” job. Nice blog, Rob!

Leave a Reply

