Martin Luther King Jr.

“When evil men plot, good men must plan. When evil 

men burn and bomb, good men must build and bind. 

When evil men shout ugly words of hatred, good men

must commit themselves to the glories of love.”-MLK

Hello someone,

This post is dedicated to Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. It is Martin Luther King Day and I would be remiss if I did not dedicate a post to such a remarkable man.  On Friday I read a book to my first grade class about Martin Luther King Jr. It was a book that I received when I was their age so I was particularly happy to share it with them. I told them about his childhood, his younger years, and eventually his death that came too soon. They all gasped when I read about his death and when the book was done everyone had a question. They wanted to know what certain phrases meant (content of their character), what his kids were doing now, and what his favorite food was. They asked if his feet got tired after doing all those marches and if his wife missed him when he went to jail. I answered all their questions and guessed on some of them ( I did not think  they had a pet, but promised I’d double check). At the end of the book Kyleigh said, “I can’t believe someone wanted to kill him.” It is hard to imagine an America where such atrocities took place.  I believe there are so many good people in this world, but I know I would have had my doubts during such a tumultuous time.  My students, especially, have a hard time imagining such a world. After all,  Obama became president when they were two and race is not a hot topic when you are six.  I hope I did an adequate job explaining his life to them.  Sometimes movies and stories do not seem to be enough. I know they will continue to learn about him and everyone else who contributed to the world because there is much to learn.

I hope you had a great day celebrating Dr. King’s life in some form or fashion. He did great work at all ages and we must keep his legacy alive.

Want more on MLK? Check out www.huffingtonpost.com/black-voices/ or http://www.life.com/timeline/401/mlk-his-life-and-times#index/22

Leave a Reply

