My Breakup with Atlanta

Atlanta Skyline

Atlanta Skyline (Photo credit: k1ng)

Me: Baby, first let me tell you how hard it is for me to do this. To leave someone I love for someone I barely even know…

Atlanta: You’re starting to sound like Usher. If you have a confession to make then just say it. Be honest with me. Be real.

Me: I have a wandering eye-

Atlanta: You’re leaving me for another city again?

Me: Again? Now you and I both know Ann Arbor was just for my college years. I was young and we moved past that.

Atlanta: But what about Barcelona? Were you young then too?

Me: (sigh) Now baby we’ve been over this before. Barcelona was just a fun time. Nothing more.

Atlanta: Who is he?

Me: Don’t make me name names.

Atlanta: WHO IS HE?

Me: His name is New York.

Atlanta: (choking back tears) When did you meet?

Me: You want to know details? I think it’d be easier if we just-

Atlanta: I said be real with me Robin!

Me: Well, we hung out a few times. It was nothing serious. I would go up there and hang out with my girls and stuff. But now he’s providing me with things you can’t do. What one city won’t do another one will.

Atlanta: The Hawks made you leave didn’t they?

Me: Now honey, let’s not play the blame game. It’s not you, it’s me.

Atlanta: It was the traffic wasn’t it?  I’m working on that. I can do better.

Me: No, it’s not the traffic.

Atlanta: I’m not pretty enough am I? I heard about New York. Mmmhmm. With all those bright lights.I knew it. I’m just not hot enough for you.

Me: Now baby you know I call you Hotlanta. You’re hot enough for me. Too hot sometimes.

Atlanta: Then what is it!

Me: I just want to try something different. I’m 24. If I don’t do this now I never will.  I’m not saying NYC is Mr. Right, but he is Mr. Right Now.

Atlanta:  NYC! Oh so you have a nickname now too?

Me: Don’t start. You know I call you Peaches.

Atlanta: Well don’t expect me to just sit around and wait for you.

Me: I don’t. I want you to keep thriving.  If you love someone you have to let them go, and if they come back it will mean so much more.  How will I really know you’re the one if I never try anything new?  I have to do this for me.

Atlanta: Well say goodbye to The Varsity, Waffle House, and Chick-Fil-A. New York can’t meet your needs. I hope you know you’re leaving your 80 for a 20.

Me: Maybe I am. Just know that I love you and I’ll be back. You hold me down like no one else can.

Atlanta: So this is it? You’re just going to walk away? Just like that.

Me: This will only make us stronger. There’s no love like your first love.  My body will be with New York, but my heart will forever be with you.

Atlanta: You really mean that Robin Beck?

Me:  Yes Atlanta Georgia. You will be on my mind. Forever I love you Atlanta.

3 thoughts on “My Breakup with Atlanta

  1. I feel like the had the same exact conversation when I left too. Although mine was not as entertaining and witty like yours. Let’s hang out in New York now!!

Leave a Reply

