Happy Labor Day!

American Flag

American Flag (Photo credit: Cristian_RH7)

Labor Day is the day dedicated to the social and economic achievements of American workers. Okay full disclosure, I did not really know the difference between Memorial Day and Labor Day for the majority of my life. Well, I had a vague sense of what they were, but I mixed them up a lot. They both involved cookouts, they both involved Mondays, and they were always spoken about within the context of summer. I had to think about it. Memorial Day: Last Monday in May, remembering fallen soldiers, memorial-think memorials. Labor Day: First Monday in September, celebrates workers, labor-think laboring.

Now that I’m older I feel guilty about the mix up. Really? I didn’t know the difference? I thought I might have had something especially awesome to write about today. It’s kind of ironic that I don’t right? The girl who debuts people with cool jobs/lives has nothing to post on Labor Day! I think really it was an overwhelming topic. Do I talk about the end of summer, the start of school, politics, joblessness in America, hope for new jobs? Aaah! I know it’s not Wednesday word, but I like what Samuel Gompers, founder of AFL, said about the holiday best.

“Labor Day differs … from the other holidays …. All other holidays are …connected with conflicts and battles of man’s prowess over man, of strife and discord for greed and power, of glories achieved by one nation over another. Labor Day…is devoted to no man, living or dead, to no sect, race, or nation.”

I leave you with that. I think that’s cool. I like Labor Day. I hope today you wore all white, ate barbecue, had a drink, appreciated workers everywhere, and enjoyed your day off. Because tomorrow…it’s back to work.

http://www.dol.gov/opa/aboutdol/laborday.htm

Leave a Reply

