Twenty Someone: Bryan Dumas

Hometown: Atlanta, GA

College: Syracuse University

Age: 27

Occupation: Associate Producer at MSNBC Marketing

1. Describe your job in three words: creative, impactful, rewarding.

2. What role, if any, did Syracuse play in your career choice? Syracuse was huge. It taught me a great deal about what it means to be a journalist. And because the journalism school is so reputable, and the pipeline is so strong in NYC, I was able to set some interviews up with NBC sports before I graduated. I didn’t think anything would come of it, but a few months later they offered me a job and that was the reason I came here.

3. If you weren’t involved in the media what would you be doing? If I wasn’t in media I’d be an entrepreneur. I always had a dream of owning a lounge or nightclub, but after being in NYC for so long and seeing what that life is like, it’s not so attractive anymore. That entrepreneurial fire still burns inside of me though.

4. Your favorite social media site and why? Facebook.  It allows me to stay in touch with everyone. When I say or do something, people respond. I like the dialogue.I feel like Twitter is one-sided sometimes whereas Facebook is more of a back and forth. Plus, I feel like all roads lead to Facebook. All other social sites connect to or are integrated with Facebook so in my mind it’s still top dog.

5. What was your first screen name? Atown729 I think was my first one and it hasn’t changed. I’m a creature of habit. My phone number hasn’t changed ever. I like being accessible. I always want people to know that I’m not hard to reach or unreliable so I try to keep things consistent on that front.

6. People would be surprised to know that… I survived a hit and run accident when I was nineteen. They’d also be surprised to know that I won two Emmy awards before I turned twenty-five.

7. I’m so sorry to hear that!  It seems like you told me the worst news and the best news in one answer. I’m glad you’re still with us.  Thanks!  It let me know that I’m here for a reason. The witnesses said they thought I was a goner. Well you survived and went on to win two Emmys.  If I won two Emmys I might be eating potato chips on a leather couch. What were the Emmys for and what motivates you to keep working hard? The Emmys are from my days at NBC sports..one is for “outstanding live sports series” in 2008 for Sunday night football and the other was for “outstanding live sports special” for Super Bowl XLIII.  As far as motivation..that accident is a huge motivator. I know that there’s more for me to accomplish while I’m here. God wouldn’t have brought me through that if there wasn’t something greater on the other side so that as well as this plan I made for myself when I moved to NYC. I never came here with the plan to just exist and survive. I came here to dominate and I told myself that I wouldn’t leave NYC until I felt like I had reached a certain point professionally and financially.

8. When was the last time you had an inspiring conversation? I was talking to my dad when I was home this past weekend and we always have these introspective talks… and he told me…you may not be where you want to be, but you’re exactly where you need to be. Keep working hard, be patient, and listen. The answer will come. I needed to hear that.

9. How does it feel to be in the latter part of your twenties? It feels..awesome. I’ve been places and done things that a lot of guys my age who look like me don’t get to see and do in a lifetime. I’m blessed and its easy to lose sight of that in the age of Facebook and Instagram when everyone is putting on and trying to be the coolest kid on the block. But I sleep well every night. I’m gainfully employed, living in NYC, successful, happy, healthy, not in debt. And that makes me feel good.

10. In ten years you will be…In 10 years, I’ll be happy, healthy, wealthy…God willing. Maybe married? Maybe kids? Who knows, but as long as the first three are in order then I can handle anything else life throws my way.

 

 

Leave a Reply

