Twenty Someone: Sarah Nash

unnamed-49

Hometown: Woodside, CA

College: Tufts

Graduate School: Columbia

Age: 25

Occupation:  Executive search person/Recruiter/I’m not sure

1. Describe your job in three words: Getting people jobs. I guess more accurately filling open positions. That makes no sense. Getting people jobs. Well, really I get hired by clients to fill open positions so I’m not really representing the people. Placing communications executives. That is more accurate.  dsfs

2. I think finding a job is stressful. Is it equally as stressful finding someone to do a job? Stressful in a different way. The work, like in any client service position, can be very demanding, stressful and time sensitive, but at the end of the day you leave it at work.  dfdsfdsf

When you’re looking for your own job you’re dealing with your life, which of course I take to heart, but if I don’t place someone tomorrow I’m not going to lose my house if you know what I mean. Most of the time it’s extremely difficult to find just the right person. Most positions have some super specific qualification and there may only be four people out there who meet the criteria. Or you have someone you know is perfect, but whose background the client doesn’t want to consider. For example, someone who has an all agency background. dfsd

3. What did you want to be when you were little? I went back and forth between teacher which was mostly because many of my teachers told me I have really neat handwriting and professional horseback rider which I always knew was a pipe dream, but who doesn’t want to hang out with horses all day? I don’t remember having a strong preference.
 dsfds
4. Name three things you’re passionate about. Horses, aged cheeses, and feminism. My roommate says to say non-gas yule logs as we’re currently having an argument about whether the yule log we’re watching is gas or not. Who is winning the argument? I am right obviously. She knows nothing about fire building, but I still say horses, aged cheeses, and feminism. How would you define a feminist? My favorite definition of a feminist is “A woman who doesn’t want to be treated like shit.” The actual definition of feminism is the belief that men and women should have equal rights and opportunities. Very simple.
 fgdgd
Why do you think some women shy away from the name? Sorry we are still deep in fireplace debate. What’s the update? My poor roommate apparently doesn’t know what a gas fireplace is and refuses to believe all fires in fireplaces are pure, wholesome and started with kindling and magical thoughts. They are totally started with magical thoughts. Give me a fireplace, a wool blanket, and some apple cider and I’m on top of the world. That’s the place I go to when people tell me to go to a happy place. Anyway, there is this association of the word with burn your bra craziness. Most of the women I talk to who say they aren’t feminists do believe in the principles, but are afraid to be thought of as a man hater, loud, or disruptive which is a whole other issue in the same vein.  
 dfsfs
In Amy Poehler’s book she says, “But then they go on to explain what they support and live by — it’s feminism exactly. I think some big actors and musicians feel like they have to speak to their audience and that word is confusing to their audience. But I don’t get it. That’s like someone being like,”I don’t really believe in cars, but I drive one every day and I love that it gets me places and makes life so much easier and faster and I don’t know what I would do without it.”   
fgfdg 
5. I now know your happy place. What does a sad place look like to you? When I’m feeling sad or moody I like to go to the Bethesda Fountain in Central Park. I am absolutely obsessed with Angels in America and the angel Bethesda plays a big part in it. Tony Kushner is a god. I bring my severely, overly annotated copy of the play and read and just wallow in the brilliance. There are so many huge, overpowering themes; it makes my problems seem much smaller. Also, it’s just a beautiful work of art. I should visit that fountain. Maybe once a month when rent is due. She would help you. It was the first piece of art commissioned from a woman by the city. Which doesn’t really help you, but power to the ladies I guess.
 fggdds
6. Tell me about an experience you are grateful for. This isn’t exactly one experience, but recently I’ve been extremely grateful for my boss. I’ve been so lucky not only to find a job I love at my first go, but to have a boss and mentor who challenges me and is supportive, hilarious, and all around a joy to work with every day. She has given me responsibilities way outside of my job description, which has allowed me to grow and learn really quickly at work. She is also very encouraging of me having a life outside of my office. Shout out to my amazing boss!
 fgfdgsd
7. What are you reading? “Ghana Must Go.” My parents both bought me the book without telling one another. It was very adorable. I studied abroad in Accra, and now they pick things up for me pretty much any time they see Ghana mentioned. What was it like studying abroad in Ghana? Interesting. I went because I had done an African Studies cultural concentration and thought I would never have the opportunity to do it again. I probably would have had a more traditional go out “whoo whoo” fun time if I had gone to Barcelona or something, but I thought that was taking the easy route. 
KNN
The things you do day to day are so different. Instead of an art museum you visit a fabric market. Instead of a fancy restaurant you get rice and fried chicken in a plastic bag at the stand outside of your dorm. Ghana itself was incredibly hot-this west coast girl was not used to the humidity. Full of delicious food- oh my god the mangoes and the kelewele. The amazing music-I took a traditional drumming and singing class and made a complete ass of myself. I also met some wonderful people-shout out to my roommate Winnifred! I got malaria twice, gained 15 pounds because everything is fried in palm oil, and almost made out with a Starbucks upon landing back in the states, but it was all worth it. I kept a blog while I was there. It is sarahisinghana.blogspot.com. Hilarious.
 gdfgdf
I was the American who went to Barcelona and cried myself to sleep because I had to live alone for the first two weeks until my friends came. That just hurt me to say. Robin, you would have been fine. Traveling alone is fun! I went to Lisbon by myself for a week in February. It was awesome. It cleared my head. I would welcome that now, but back then I wanted things a certain way. Young and foolish I was. Are those synonymous? Robin Beck was never young and foolish. And yes, absolutely.
 dsdsdg
8. Your mom is a Democrat and your dad is a Republican. How did or didn’t that shape you? There was always a lot of political debate going on in my house growing up, but it was truly debate, not arguing. Of course it gets heated around election time, but I was never afraid of it as a kid like I would have been of normal parental fighting. It forced my sister and I to become politically savvy from a young age. My parents are both politically active. My mom went to knock on doors in Florida for Hillary in 2008. They are also reasonable people and have both voted across the aisle. They’re just a regular Carville and Matalin.
ffddfgd
9. A genie says he /she can either save the elephants or ban plastic water bottles. What do you tell the genie to do? I pick elephants because at the current rate of poaching, elephants will be extinct in the wild in ten years which is heartbreaking. Also the ivory trade funds every single terrorism group so I just don’t understand why we can’t all get behind the issue. Did you know the NRA is against anti-poaching legislation for saving gun reasons? No, but I know they are powerful and irrational at times. 
ghkdfs 
It’s fucking absurd. It’s a big topic for my girl Hillary! I can’t wait for the day when I get to vote for a female presidential candidate. Okay so we save the elephants and try to buy a reusable water bottle. Absolutely. I’m so happy you’ve taken up the cause. You’re my only true convert. I’m trying my best. Someone told me yesterday that city tap water could kill me. My endurance wavered. That is bull crap. New York City has some of the best tap water in the country. That’s what my boss reminded me of, but it’s easy to believe people when they speak with conviction. I love your boss. Her name is also Sarah.  
jhgk 
10. In ten years you will be…Oh no, this is too much. Probably back in California or at least somewhere I can have a dog and ride horses again. True, I’ve never seen a horse in New York City. Well, I have with a carriage. Those don’t count. I still don’t know what I want to do when I grow up. I’m just going to play this search thing out for a while. See where it takes me. So teacher and professional horseback rider are out? Horseback rider will never happen. My legs are too short. One of my professors at Tufts is still on me about the teacher/professor thing, but it terrifies me. Too much responsibility-holding people’s minds in your hands. And in ten years the elephants…I know.
Leave a Reply

