Wednesday Word Palooza!

925247_559226697523651_17142727_n

And now for a flashback of all the Wednesday Words. Feel free to look back when you need some motivation!

-We ask our students, what do you want to do when you grow up? Instead, we should ask them, whom or whom, and what ideals do you want to serve when you grow up? -William J. Bennett, CNN Contributor   

-I’ve always had an optimistic view of divorce. My parents divorced amicably when I was 5, and I remained close to both. My father now lives jovially with his third ex-wife, who has become his roommate. My sister recently completed her second divorce and seems happier than ever. I know this may sound as if my family doesn’t respect marriage, but we care about it deeply: we keep breaking up mediocre ones in pursuit of a better match-Wendy Paris

-What’s the difference, I asked a tech-writer friend, between the billionaire media mogul Mark Zuckerberg and the billionaire media mogul Rupert Murdoch? When Rupert invades your privacy, my friend e-mailed back, it’s against the law. When Mark does, it’s the future. -Bill Keller

-In New York you can be anybody you want to be. If tomorrow we wanted to be  Russian spies, we could be that.-Allie Hendee, 24someone.

-No one is born hating another person because of the color of his skin, or his background, or his religion. People must learn to hate, and if they can learn to hate, they can be taught to love, for love comes more naturally to the human heart than its opposite.-Nelson Mandela

-But love is more organized than that. Love has cellphones and ambulances, nurses and doctors, complete strangers and policemen and emergency responders always at the ready. Love has nurses who will jump out of bed in the middle of the night and get family members to watch their children so they can rush to the hospital and save the life of someone they’ve never met. Love has first responders who will walk into a booby-trapped building to save the lives of neighbors they will never meet.-Michael Johnston, Democratic State Senator

-The more you find things in common the less you have to contrast.-Author unknown 

-I have seen firsthand that being president doesn’t change who you are—it reveals who you are.-Michelle Obama

-Do not let what you cannot do interfere with what you can do.- John Wooden

-There is no such thing as a ‘self-made’ man. We are made up of thousands of others. Everyone who has ever done a kind deed for us, or spoken one word of encouragement to us, has entered into the make-up of our character and of our thoughts, as well as our success.-George Burton Adams

-Be kind whenever possible. It is always possible.-Dalai Lama

-Jordan: I think I have pneumonia. (20 minutes later I hear heels and noise) Jordan: Okay bye I’m going to the Jay-Z concert tonight

-Ohhh I’ll be 25 soon. That will be fun, but then I have to wait until I’m like 50 to have another big birthday.-Vernona, 24

-Always dream and shoot higher than you know you can do. Don’t bother just to be better than your contemporaries or predecessors. Try to be better than yourself.-William Faulkner

-If our brains were simple enough for us to understand them, we’d be so simple that we couldn’t.-Lyall Watson

-I hated every minute of training but I said, don’t quit. Suffer now & live the rest of your life as a champion. -Muhammad Ali

-The man who questions opinion is wise; the man who quarrels with facts is a fool.-Frank A. Garbutt

-The best is yet to come. -President Barack Obama

-I believe in America.  I believe in the people of America.-Governor Mitt Romney

-The recipe for perpetual ignorance is: Be satisfied with your opinions and content with your knowledge.”-Elbert Hubbard

-Be thankful for what you have; you’ll end up having more. If you concentrate on what you don’t have, you will never, ever have enough.-Oprah Winfrey

-Whatever you do, do it well. Do it so well that when people see you do it they will want to come back and see you do it again and they will want to bring others and show them how well you do what you do.-Walt Disney

-If your dreams don’t scare you, they are not big enough.-Ellen Johnson Sirleaf

-People always call it luck when you’ve acted more sensibly than they have.-Anne Tyler

-Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it is time to pause and reflect.-Mark Twain

-If I accept you as you are, I will make you worse; however, if I treat you as though you are what you are capable of becoming, I help you become that.”-Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

-He who passively accepts evil is as much involved in it as he who helps to perpetrate it. He who accepts evil without protesting against it is really cooperating with it.-Martin Luther King Jr.

-I really don’t think life is about the I-could-have-beens. Life is only about the I-tried-to-do. I don’t mind the failure but I can’t imagine that I’d forgive myself if I didn’t try.-Nikki Giovanni

-This is life people. You got air coming through your nose. You got a heartbeat. That means it’s time to do something!-Kid President

-It is impossible to live without failing at something, unless you live so cautiously that you might as well not have lived at all – in which case, you fail by default. -J.K. Rowling

-Love the life you live. Live the life you love. -Bob Marley

-The person who you’re with most in life is yourself and if you don’t like yourself you’re always with somebody you don’t like.-Marc S. Lewis, Ph.D.

-If you create the stage setting and it’s grand, everyone who enters will play their part-Morris Lapidus

-I like it when somebody gets excited about something. It’s nice.-J.D. Salinger, The Catcher in the Rye 

-If you lose dollars for the firm, I will be understanding. If you lose reputation for the firm, I will be ruthless. – Warren Buffet

-It’s not what you look at that matters, it’s what you see.-Henry David Thoreau

-It is not fair to ask of others what you are unwilling to do yourself. – Eleanor Roosevelt

-Don’t tell me the sky’s the limit when there are footsteps on the moon.-Anonymous

-Robin, folks keep saying they want it all. You don’t need it ALL. Save some for everybody else.-Shyril Beck

-Never say that you can’t do something, or that something seems impossible, or that something can’t be done, no matter how discouraging or harrowing it may be; human beings are limited only by what we allow ourselves to be limited by: our own minds. We are each the masters of our own reality; when we become self-aware to this: absolutely anything in the world is possible…-Mike Norton

-The less I needed, the better I felt.-Charles Bukowski

-Spring is nature’s way of saying, ‘Let’s party!’-Robin Williams

-If you don’t like your job, leave. Someone else will like it. Working at a job you don’t like is like sitting in someone else’s seat-Lori Hamilton

-Not everything that counts can be counted and not everything that can be counted, counts-Albert Einstein

-Yesterday I was clever, so I wanted to change the world. Today I am wise, so I am changing myself.-Rumi

-The only thing that walks back from the grave with the mourners and refuses to be buried, is the character of a man. What a man is survives him. It can never be buried.-J.R. Miller

-I am not ashamed to say that no man I ever met was my father’s equal, and I never loved any other man as much.- Hedy Lamarr

-The price of greatness is responsibility.-Winston Churchill

-If you never did you should. These things are fun and fun is good.-Dr. Seuss

-Don’t be in a hurry to condemn because he doesn’t do what you do or think as you think or as fast. There was a time when you didn’t know what you know today.-Malcolm X

-Every man has a right to his opinion, but no man has a right to be wrong in his facts -Bernard M. Baruch

-Those that don’t got it, can’t show it. Those that got it, can’t hide it.-Zora Neale Hurston

-We choose our joys and sorrows long before we experience them.- Khalil Gibran

-If being crazy means living life as if it matters, then I don’t mind being completely insane.-Revolutionary Road, 2008

-Goodness is easier to recognize, than define. -Wystan Hugh Auden

-Remember that not getting what you want is sometimes a wonderful stroke of luck.-Dalai Lama 

-Actions prove who someone is, words just prove who they want to be. – Unknown. 

-Don’t be seduced into thinking that that which does not make a profit is without value. -Arthur Miller

-If we have no peace, it is because we have forgotten that we belong to each other.-Mother Teresa

-Only the mediocre are always at their best-Jean Giraudoux

-Don’t measure yourself by what you have accomplished, but by what you should have accomplished with your ability.-John Wooden

-Never let a day pass that you will have cause to say I will do better tomorrow.-Brigham Young

-Nothing is easier than saying words. Nothing is harder than living them day after day. -Arthur Gordon

-All good is hard. All evil is easy. Dying, losing, cheating, and mediocrity is easy. Stay away from easy.- Scott Alexander

-To get lost is to learn the way.– African proverb

-Too many young people have grown up. There’s a difference between growing up and being raised.-Jason Whitlock

-Holding on to anger is like grasping a hot coal with the intent of throwing it at someone else; you are the one who gets burned.-Buddha

-Every flower must go through dirt-Anonymous

-People may not always tell you how they feel about you, but they will always show you. Pay attention.-anonymous

-Those that don’t got it, can’t show it. Those that got it, can’t hide it.-Zora Neale Hurston

-I have decided to stick with love. Hate is too great a burden to bear. –Martin Luther King, Jr.

-It’s not the load that breaks you down. It’s the way you carry it.-Lena Horne

-How far you go in life depends on your being tender with the young, compassionate with the aged, sympathetic with the striving and tolerant of the weak and strong. Because someday in your life you will have been all of these-George Washington Carver

-To love and be loved is to feel the sun from both sides.– David Viscott

-The greatest enemy of knowledge is not ignorance; it is the illusion of knowledge.– Stephen Hawking

-The best revenge is to be unlike him who performed the injury.― Marcus Aurelius, Meditations

-A leader is best when people barely know he exists, when his work is done, his aim fulfilled, they will say: we did it ourselves-Lao Tzu

-No person was ever honored for what he received. Honor has been the reward for what he gave. -Calvin Coolidge

-The soul becomes dyed with the color of it’s thoughts-Marcus Aurelius

-You must learn a new way to think before you can master a new way to be-Marianne Williamson

-Truth isn’t always beauty, but the hunger for it is.- Nadine Gordimer

-Give a good deed the credit of a good motive; and give an evil deed the benefit of the doubt.-Brander Matthews 

-I would like to be known as an intelligent woman, a courageous woman, a loving woman, a woman who teaches by being.-Maya Angelou

-People confuse the source of their happiness. They become temporarily happy when they get a new car, or a new house, or a new marriage. And they think that they are suddenly happy because of this new thing in their life. In reality, they are happy because for a brief moment, they are without desire. But then soon another desire comes along. And the search continues.- Taken from Humans of New York, May 27, 2014

-Imagine all the wondrous things your arms might embrace if they weren’t wrapped so tightly around your struggles. — Sheila Burke

-Avoid having your ego so close to your position that when your position falls, your ego goes with it.-Colin Powell

-Gratitude turns what we have into enough.-Anonymous

-People who say it cannot be done should not interrupt those who are doing it.― George Bernard Shaw

-Have no friends not equal to yourself-Confucius

-Leadership is a choice, not a rank-Simon Sinek

-Please remember that your greatest talent is so much more powerful than your biggest fear-anonymous

-When I loved myself enough, I began leaving whatever wasn’t healthy. This meant people, jobs, my own beliefs and habits – anything that kept me small. My judgement called it disloyal. Now I see it as self-loving.-Kim McMillen  

-I’m starting to realize the two most powerful words are yes and no. How I use them determines how I set my schedule. How I set my schedule determines how I live my life. How I live my life determines how I spend my soul.-Lysa Terkeurst

-You have not lived today until you have done something for someone who can never repay you-John Bunyan

-If there is anything I would like to be remembered for it is that I helped people understand that leadership is helping other people grow and succeed. To repeat myself, leadership is not just about you. It’s about them.-Jack Welch

-There is little difference in people, but that little difference makes a big difference. The little difference is attitude. The big difference is whether it is positive or negative.―W. Clement Stone

-The greater danger for most of us lies not in setting our aim too high and falling short; but in setting our aim too low, and achieving our mark.― Michelangelo Buonarroti

-The mouth should have three gatekeepers. Is it true? Is it kind? And is it necessary?” – Arab Proverb.

-For the past 33 years, I have looked in the mirror every morning and asked myself: ‘If today were the last day of my life, would I want to do what I am about to do today?’ And whenever the answer has been ‘No’ for too many days in a row, I know I need to change something.-Steve Jobs

-The question isn’t who is going to let me; it’s who is going to stop me.-Ayn Rand

-Our bodies are where we stay; Our souls are what we are.-Cecil Baxter

-The real contest is always between what you’ve done and what you’re capable of doing. You measure yourself against yourself and nobody else.-Geoffrey Gaberino

-Forgiveness is not an occasional act, it is a constant attitude.― Martin Luther King Jr.

-Your smile is your logo, your personality is your business card, how you leave others feeling after having an experience with you becomes your trademark.-Jay Danzie

-Listen to the mustn’ts, child. Listen to the don’ts. Listen to the shouldn’ts, the impossibles, the won’ts. Listen to the never haves, then listen close to me… Anything can happen, child. Anything can be.-Shel Silverstein

-Do or do not. There is no try.-Yoda

-Do your thing. Do it unapologetically. Don’t be discouraged by criticism. You probably already know what they’re going to say. Pay no mind to the fear of failure. It’s far more valuable than success. Take ownership, take chances, and have fun. And no matter what, don’t ever stop doing your thing.– Asher Roth

Leave a Reply

